Working the Land

Standard

My husband and I have always wanted to move out to the country and have some acreage. We’d love to have a big garden. But in the mean time, we have a small garden in our back yard. Think of it as a kind of experiment for our larger project. What works. What doesn’t. What we need to improve on. And so on…

As the bible states in Proverbs 28: 19 “Those who work their land will have abundant food, but those who chase fantasies will have their fill of poverty.”

I love getting out in the yard and working the land. Last summer was SO rainy, it made it very hard for anything to grow except the weeds. I am hoping that this summer garden turns out much better.

We have had a few spring-like 60 degree days. It makes me feel so happy because spring must be around the corner. I can’t wait to start working in our little garden again. I don’t have room for huge crops, but I like to at least grow some tomatoes. Nothing tastes better than home grown tomatoes. I usually don’t have enough to can so I buy a box of tomatoes to can from the farmer’s market. But my home grown tomatoes at least make a wonderful fresh salad or a nice snack right off the vine.

We usually wait until mid-April to start growing seedlings outside. I better wait. One week we have warmer weather and the next it’s cold again. So unpredictable. But spring will be here soon and I’d love to show you pictures of my garden then šŸ™‚

Leave a comment